Defensive Driving is a method to keep a citation off of your driving record. Upon the timely completion of an approved driver safety course and return of the Certificate of Completion and the certified copy of your driving record from the Texas Department of Public Safety to the court, the court dismisses your citation.
To be eligible for Defensive Driving:
- You must make the request for Defensive Driving either in writing via certified mail or by appearing in person at the municipal court on or before the appearance date provided at the bottom of your citation.
- You must enter a plea of “guilty” or “no contest”.
- You must pay the court costs and fees totaling $106.85 in full at the time you make the request. There are no extensions or payment plans for this payment. CASH, CREDIT CARD OR MONEY ORDER ONLY! NO CHECKS WILL BE ACCEPTED.
- You must show proof of valid automobile liability insurance with your name on the policy.
- You must show proof of a current Texas Drivers License or permit.
- You must not have taken a defensive driving course for ticket dismissal within the 12 months preceding the date of your citation.
You are not eligible for defensive driving if: (1) You are accused of speeding 25 miles per hour or more over the posted speed limit; (2) Your violation occurred in a construction zone when workers were present; (3) You have a Commercial Drivers License.
Upon your (1) timely request for defensive driving, (2) satisfactory proof of all of the above requirements and (3) payment of the court costs plus all applicable fees, the court will sign an order allowing you to complete defensive driving. You have 90 days from the date of the court’s order to complete your course and submit your completion certificate as well as a certified copy of your driving record.
You can locate a Defensive Driving Class online at http://www.tea.state.tx.us/drive/activetestds.html or contact the court for information regarding local instructors.
Failure to timely take the course or failure to timely return your certificate of completion will result in a fine and the report of a conviction on your driving record including the assessment of points and surcharges by the Department of Public Safety.